CSSR History

The following brief history of the CSSR was kindly put together by Sylvain Rheault (CSSR President 2005-2007) in 2008. Please also visit the CSSR online archives for a list of past presidents and conferences, as well as archived newsletters, AGM minutes, and conference programs.

1980: First meeting of the Canadian Seminar on the History of Rhetoric (CSHR).

1981: Second meeting of the Canadian Seminar on the History of Rhetoric (CSHR), with an opening address from Judith Rice Henderson.

1982: The name is changed to: Canadian Society for the History of Rhetoric (CSHR).

1990: Founding at Carleton University, in Ottawa, of the “Carleton University Centre for Rhetorical Studies // Centre d’études Rhétoriques de Carleton University,” of which A. W. Halsall is the first director.

1991: The name of the Society is changed to: “Canadian Society for the Study of Rhetoric.” The name of the Newsletter is changed to Rhetor. The name was changed by David Goodwin.

1996: A constitutional review established the advisory committee and instituted the tradition of passing the role of President to the Vice President and Secretary Treasurer.

1998: The first web site for the CSSR is created at Lakehead University by Kim Fedderson.

1999: First electronic mailing list for the CSSR hosted at The Univerity of Winnipeg and managed by Tracy Whalen.

2000: A new CSSR web site at the University of Regina is created and managed by Sylvain Rheault. Later during the year, the site will have a dedicated domain name (www.cssr-scer.ca). The electronic mailing list for the CSSR is hosted at uregina.ca and is managed by Sylvain Rheault. 20th anniversary of the CSSR.

2003: The web site is transfered to the University of Saskatchewan with the same domain name and is managed by Jennifer MacLennan.

2004: Publication of the first volume of Rhetor in electronic format. Tracy Whalen acted as general editor, Alice Den Otter did the editing, Sylvain Rheault took care of the technical aspects (conversion in .pdf format, design of the web pages, obtention of an ISSN number).

2006: The CSSR celebrates it’s 25+1th Anniversary.

Histoire de la SCÉR

L’histoire de la SCÉR a été reconstituée par Sylvain Rheault (Président de la SCÉR de 2005 à 2007). Vous pouvez également visiter nos archives en ligne pour consulter la liste des présidents et des congrès passés, de même que les bulletins archivés, les compte-rendus, et les programmes des congrès.

1980: Première réunion de la Conférence Canadienne sur l’Histoire de la Rhétorique (CCHR).

1981: Deuxième réunion de la Conférence Canadienne sur l’Histoire de la Rhétorique, avec un discours d’ouverture par Judith Rice Henderson.

1982: Changement de nom, la CCHR devient la SCHR, la Société Canadienne pour l’Histoire de la Rhétorique.

1990: Fondation à l’Université de Carleton (à Ottawa) de la “Carleton University Centre for Rhetorical Studies // Centre d’études Rhétoriques de Carleton University”. A. W. Halsall en est le premier directeur.

1991: Nouveau changement de nom, la SCHR devient la SCÉR, la Société Canadienne pour l’Étude de la Rhétorique.

Le nom du Bulletin de la Société change également et devient Rhetor, suite à une proposition de David Goodwin.

1996: Une tradition se fait jour, la fonction de président, passe successivement au vice-président puis au secrétaire/trésorier.

1998: Le premier site internet de la SCÉR est conçu à l’Université de Lakehead par Kim Fedderson.

1999: La première liste de diffusion électronique est accueillie à l’Université de Winnipeg et contrôlée par Tracy Whalen.

2000: Un nouveau site internet de la SCÉR est ouvert à l’Université de Regina; il est conçu et contrôlé par Sylvain Rheault. Le site obtient rapidement un nom de domaine officiel (www.cssr-scer.ca). La liste de diffusion électronique de la SCÉR est accueillie à l’Université de Régina ; elle est contrôlée par Sylvain Rheault. On fête cette année le 20e anniversaire de la SCÉR.

2003: Le site internet est transféré a l’Université de Saskatchewan avec le même nom de domaine; il est contrôlé par Jennifer MacLennan.

2004: Publication du premier volume de la revue Rhetor au format électronique. Tracy Whalen en est la rédactrice en chef, Alice Den Otter s’occupe de l’édition, Sylvain Rheault prend en charge les aspects techniques de la publication (conversion des textes au format .pdf, conception des pages internet, obtention d’un nombre d’ISSN).

2006: La SCÉR célbre sa 26ième anniversaire

Save pagePDF pageEmail pagePrint page